Call Today 610.572.1905
Experienced Defense Attorney Dedicated to Your Best Possible Outcome

Reading Assault Attorney

Facing Assault Charges in Berks County, PA?

Assault in Pennsylvania is defined as a person attempting to intentionally or recklessly cause physical injury to another. A person can also be charged for assault if they negligently cause injury to a person with a deadly weapon or if they put fear of injury in another person. There are several categories of assault, such as assault and battery, vehicular assault, felony assault, threats, assault with a weapon and assault of a minor. Any of these offense can hold serious penalties, if you are facing an assault charge seek representation from a Reading criminal attorney. The charges of assault are generally broken down between simple assault offenses and aggravated assault crimes.

Penalties of Simple Assault in Reading, PA

Simple assault offenses normally involve crimes with minor or no injuries. A person can also be charged with simple assault for holding a deadly weapon and threatening a person. The penalties for simple assault offenses vary depending on the case, such as:

General Simple Assault

  • Charged as a misdemeanor 2
  • Punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000

Simple Assault with mutual consent (fight)

  • Charged as a misdemeanor 3
  • Punishable by a prison sentence of up to one year and a fine of up to $2,500

Simple Assault against a Minor (under age 12)

  • Charged as a misdemeanor 1
  • Punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000

Penalties of Aggravated Assault in Pennsylvania

An aggravated assault penalty is a violent crime that commonly involves severe injuries. This offense is also termed Felony Assault because the offenses are charged as felonies. Aggravated assault includes a person knowingly, recklessly or intentionally causing bodily harm while showing extreme indifference to human life. In order to convict for aggravated assault, the prosecutor has to convince a jury that they acted in one of these ways. To prove that they acted knowingly, they must have proof that the defendant was aware of the consequences of their actions. To prove that they acted recklessly, they must prove that the defendant disregarded the consequences of their acts. This is often determined by placing a "reasonable" person in the same situation and deciding if they would have been aware of the risks. The breakdown of these offenses include:

General Aggravated Assault

  • Charged as a felony 2
  • Punishable by a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $25,000

Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon (gun, knife, etc.)

  • Charged as a felony 2
  • Punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000

Aggravated Assault against Public Officer or with Extreme Indifference

  • Charged as a felony 1
  • Punishable by a prison sentence of up to 25 years and a fine of up to $25,000

If any assault crime involves a public official or employee it can be elevated to an aggravated assault charge. Public officials include, teachers, police officers, firefighters, judges, district attorneys, parole officers, etc.

Need a lawyer for an assault case in Reading, PA?

If you are facing any type of assault offense, you may be facing jail time and fines along with a tainted record. Team up with the top criminal lawyer in Reading to avoid penalties. Fight against your charges by pursuing experienced and aggressive representation from an assault lawyer in Reading. Our Reading criminal defense lawyer is a former Assistant District Attorney and is able to build defenses while predicting what the prosecutor will say and do.

Contact Curtis E. Barnes, Attorney at Law today to schedule a consultation and see how we may be able to help you fight against your assault charges.

Stay Updated

  • DUI Penalties in PA

    DUI Penalties in PA If you are wondering what penalties could be imposed upon you for a DUI charge, I have given you the basics below. These penalties ...

    View More
  • If The Police Ask To Talk To Me, Should I?

    The first thing you need to know is that you do not have to answer questions from law enforcement. You should always say no if the police want to talk ...

    View More
  • DUI Process in Pennsylvania

    In Pennsylvania, you can be arrested and convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of.08% ...

    View More

Contact Us Today

All Consultations Are Free and Confidential
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.