Reading Multiple DUI Attorney

Facing DUI Charges in Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level for drivers above age 21 is .08%. If you are under age 21, the BAC limit is .02%. This state uses three categories in order to define a person's impairment level. This level can affect the charges and penalties of the driver. The three tiers are:

  1. General Impairment- BAC between .08 and .099
  2. High BAC- BAC between .1 and .159
  3. Highest BAC- BAC of .16 and above

When it comes to DUI offenses, the penalties for first, second or third offenses depends on the impairment level of the driver. If you are facing your first offense and you had a general impairment level, you could be facing six months on probation, a fine and alcohol safety school. If you had a high BAC, your license could be suspended for a year and you could be facing jail time, fines, alcohol treatment, and alcohol safety school. The fines would be even higher if you were deemed to have the highest BAC. Multiple DUI offenses in Pennsylvania are serious. If you have already received one DUI conviction and are charged for another within 10 years of the previous, you are at risk of harsher penalties. Searching for an attorney for your DUI case in Reading? Contact Curtis E. Barnes, Attorney at Law, I am a DUI attorney with years of experience and I can help you!

Penalties for Multiple DUI in PA

The consequences for a second, third or subsequent offense depends on the driver's BAC level. The penalties may include any of the following:

Second DUI Offense

General Impairment (BAC between .08 and .099):

  • Between five days and six months in jail
  • A fine between $300 and $2,500
  • Up to a 12 month license suspension

High BAC (BAC between .1 and .159)

  • Between 30 days and six months in jail
  • A fine between $750 and $5,000
  • Up to a 12 month license suspension

Highest BAC (BAC of .16 and above)

  • Between 90 days and five years in jail
  • A fine of at least $1,500
  • Up to an 18 month license suspension

On top of these penalties, the court can also order an ignition interlock device, alcohol highway safety school and alcohol or drug treatment when necessary.

Third DUI Offense

General Impairment:

  • Between 10 days and two years in jail
  • A fine between $500 and $5,000
  • Up to a 12 month license suspension

High BAC:

  • Between 90 days and five years in jail
  • A fine between $1,500 and $10,000
  • Up to an 18 month license suspension

Highest BAC:

  • Between one and five years in jail
  • A fine of at least $2,500
  • Up to an 18 month license suspension

Just as with the second DUI offenses, these also can result in an ignition interlock device and further mandatory alcohol treatments and safety schools. Fourth and subsequent offenses continue to increase in severity. It is imperative to have a skilled Reading DUI lawyer by your side if you have been arrested for a DUI. Pennsylvania does not accept any plea bargain for a lesser offense than DUI. This means that you need to aggressively fight against your charges, even for a first offense.

Curtis E. Barnes, Attorney at Law Can Help!

Arrested for a DUI in Reading, PA? You need the top DUI lawyer in Reading to help in your case. If this is not your first offense, there are serious penalties at stake. You need an aggressive Reading DUI attorney to help you defend against your charges. Contact me, Curtis E. Barnes, Attorney at Law, today for the skilled legal counsel and DUI defense that you need!

Internet Marketing Experts

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.